Categories
Sports

2022 World Cup results: Argentina and Poland qualified for the round of 16



► Argentina finish first in Group C

Argentina breathes! Badly started, Lionel Messi’s team invited themselves to the round of 16 of the 2022 World Cup on Wednesday November 30, beating Poland 2-0 thanks to goals from Alexis Mac Alister (46e) and Julian Alvarez (67e). The Albiceleste had to whip, Lionel Messi missed a penalty at the start of the match against the Poles, but here they are first in Pool C and opposed on Saturday (8 p.m.) in the round of 16 to Australia, who tamed Denmark (1 -0).

There will therefore be no immediate revenge between Argentina and France: the Blues of Kylian Mbappé, reigning world champions and executioners of Albiceleste in 2018 (4-3), have finished first in group D and will challenge Robert Lewandowski’s Poland on Sunday late afternoon (4 p.m.).

► Mexico eliminated despite victory over Saudi Arabia

Mexico almost came back from the dead: in bad shape before the last matches of group C, the “Tri” beat Saudi Arabia (2-1) in vain, because they finished third in the group, behind the Poland.

Tied on points with the Poles (four), the Mexican players fail for a unit on goal difference, despite the defeat of Robert Lewandowski’s teammates against Argentina at the same time (2-0), in the qualifiers match.

What an infuriating fate for the “Tri”, as it dominated the match against Saudi Arabia! He only missed a goal for a long time against the “Green Falcons”, who finally failed in fourth place in Group C, far from their initial feat against Argentina (2-1).

► France is preparing an appeal for Griezmann’s canceled goal

The confusion over a French goal canceled by the VAR after the end of the match against Tunisia (1-0), Wednesday in Doha, led the French team to prepare an official complaint to the attention of Fifa, a- she announced.

The coach of the Blues Didier Deschamps had already expressed doubts about the validity of this goal. “I am awaiting an answer on the regulations”, he assured at a press conference. The coach criticizes less the existence of an offside than “the point of settlement”. “The second aspect is that the referee whistled the kick-off and the end of the match. Does he have the right to return (on purpose) ? I am not sure, he continued. I went to see him. I am awaiting the response. »

According to an arbitration source interviewed by AFP, this situation does not appear in the VAR protocol. “Once the kick-off has been given, then it is impossible to return to the offside situation”, explains this source.

.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *